Uber & Lyft Accident Attorney in Houston TX
Rideshare services like Lyft and Uber have seen significant increases in popularity since their introduction several years ago. These services typically offer people safe, affordable, and convenient transportation. Unfortunately, accidents involving Uber and Lyft vehicles do happen, and victims often find themselves caught in a complex web of insurance disputes.
If you’ve been injured in an Uber or Lyft accident, turn to the Houston personal injury lawyers of Pines & Goldenzweig, PLLC. Our experienced Uber and Lyft accident lawyers will aggressively fight for the maximum recovery you deserve. With our full-service law firm, you won’t be just another claim number. Our compassionate team also works to help you get the medical treatment you need, fix your damaged vehicle, and get back on your feet after the accident.
Contact our law firm right away for a free case review after an Uber or Lyft accident in Houston.
How Does an Insurance Claim Work in Uber and Lyft Accidents?
The insurance available in an Uber or Lyft accident depends on the rideshare driver’s status at the time of the accident:
- If the rideshare driver has a passenger or is on the way to pick up a passenger …
When a driver has a passenger in the vehicle or is driving to pick up a passenger, the highest insurance limits are triggered. This includes up to $1 million in total coverage for death, bodily injury, and property damage. The insurance also provides up to $1 million in uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.
- If the rideshare driver has the app on and is waiting for a ride request …
If a rideshare driver is logged into the Uber or Lyft mobile application and is waiting for a passenger request, then Texas law requires insurance coverage of $50,000 per person/$100,000 per accident in death/bodily injury liability coverage and $25,000 per accident of property damage liability coverage.
- If the driver does not have the app on …
If a rideshare driver is not logged into the mobile application, then his or her personal auto insurance policy will apply to cover any accidents caused. Texas requires all drivers to carry at least $30,000 per person/$60,000 per accident of bodily injury liability coverage and $25,000 per accident of property damage liability coverage.
Compensation after a Lyft or Uber Accident
If you’ve been injured in a Lyft or Uber accident, you may be entitled to compensation for losses and expenses that you have incurred, including:
- Costs of medical treatment
- Costs to accommodate disabilities caused by your injuries, including home health services, home renovations, or mobility equipment
- Lost wages and earning capacity
- Loss of enjoyment of life
- Pain and suffering
What to Do If You’ve Been Hurt in an Uber or Lyft Accident
If you’ve been hurt in an Uber or Lyft accident caused by a rideshare driver, help protect your right to seek financial recovery by taking these steps:
- Report the accident to law enforcement, and request a copy of the police accident report.
- Notify the rideshare service about the accident. If you were a passenger in an Uber or Lyft vehicle, you can contact the rideshare company through the mobile application, or you can contact Uber’s or Lyft’s customer service lines.
- Get examined by your doctor right away for any injuries you may have suffered. Follow your doctor’s treatment plan, including taking the rest you need.
- Save all paperwork. Collect copies of your medical records and receipts, any insurance documentation you receive, estimates for auto repairs, etc.
- Keep a journal of how your injuries have affected your daily life and your emotional state.
- Stay off social media. Post nothing that an insurance company or attorney could use against you if your claim goes to court.
Finally, contact Pines & Goldenzweig, PLLC, for a free case review to speak to a Houston Uber & Lyft accident attorney about your options for obtaining compensation for your injuries and losses.
Texas Uber Laws
Under Texas state law, rideshare companies such as Uber and Lyft are required to obtain a permit from the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation prior to operating in the state. The license carries a $5,000 annual fee. Rideshare companies are also required by law to perform annual local, state, and national criminal background checks on all of their drivers operating in Texas.
Vehicles that operate for rideshare services like Uber and Lyft must have at least four doors and five passenger seats (including the driver’s seat).
The law imposes a zero-tolerance policy on intoxication while drivers are logged into a rideshare application, driving to pick up, or transporting passengers. Drivers are also prohibited from discriminating against riders on the basis of pickup location, destination, race, color, national origin, religious beliefs, sex, age, or disability. Drivers must also provide accommodations for passengers with service animals and may not charge extra to accommodate a passenger’s disability.
How a Houston Uber and Lyft Accident Attorney Can Help You
Let the Lyft and Uber accident lawyers at Pines & Goldenzweig, PLLC, take the pressure off you after a rideshare accident. Our skilled legal team will:
- Investigate the accident to determine who was at fault and who can be held accountable to compensate you for your injuries
- Work with accident reconstruction and medical experts to build a strong case on your behalf
- Manage all communication with the rideshare companies, insurance companies, and at-fault drivers, and aggressively negotiate for full and fair compensation
- Bring your case to court, if necessary, to vigorously advocate for a verdict in your favor
Contact us today for a free, no-obligation consultation to learn more about how our firm can help you if you’ve been hurt in an Uber or Lyft accident.