Dog Bite Lawyers in Houston, TX
Pines & Goldenzweig, PLLC represents dog bite victims in Houston, TX. Call 713-489-4410 to schedule your free consultation.
If you are bitten by a dog in Houston, your first call should be to a skilled dog bite lawyer. Dog bites are considered a form of personal injury, so Texas law gives you two years to file a lawsuit after the date of the bite. Your attorney will help you understand the relevant laws to determine whether it is worth filing a claim. If so, your lawyer will be by your side every step of the way.
Texas Dog Bite Law
Texas follows a “one bite rule.” To recover damages, you must be able to prove that:
- The dog’s owner knew the dog had previously bitten someone or was unusually aggressive
- The dog’s owner was negligent in controlling the dog, and your injuries were directly caused by that negligence
To establish negligence, you must be able to prove that the owner did not exercise reasonable care in protecting others from a dog bite. Allowing the dog to roam without a leash is a common example. If you were injured in another way, such as being knocked down by a free-ranging large dog, you may also be able to recover damages under the negligence rule.
Defenses to Dog Bite Liability in Texas
There are two basic defenses against liability in a dog bite claim:
Lack of knowledge: The owner used reasonable care in controlling the dog, such as a leash, and did not know of any previous bites or aggressive tendencies.
Trespassing: In Texas, trespassing is an automatic defense against liability. If you are bitten by someone’s dog while unlawfully on their property, you may not recover damages from the dog owner.
Dog bites are a form of personal injury. Like any personal injury case, it is important to contact an experienced attorney as soon as possible. Texas dog bite laws can be a bit confusing, and it is your responsibility to prove that the owner is liable for damages. A skilled dog bite lawyer will help you decide whether to pursue a claim and stand by your side every step of the way.
If you were bitten by a dog in Houston, contact Pines & Goldenzweig, PLLC today at 713-489-4410 (English) or 713-766-0000 (Español) for a free case review and consultation.
Frequently Asked Questions
Do I have to report it if a dog bites me?
You are not legally obligated to report a dog bite. However, if you wish to take legal action against the owner of the dog, it is necessary to report it within 2 years of the incident. Be sure to take photos and gather documentation such as medical reports, police reports, animal control records, and any other pertinent information.
How long does a dog bite settlement take?
A dog bite settlement could take anywhere from 30 days to 2 years or more, depending on the situation. In cases of clear liability it could settle anywhere from 30-90 days. In cases that require some investigation (known as the “discovery phase”) it could take 6 months to a year. Cases that go to trial could take two years or more to get a court date in order to be settled.
What should I do if my dog bites my neighbor?
Call a personal injury lawyer right away. There’s always a chance your neighbor could seek legal action, and if so, you’ll want to be prepared. A lawyer will ask for all the necessary information to support your case in the event that your neighbor wants to sue.
Should I sue for a dog bite?
This can be a difficult decision. Did you accrue medical bills as a result of the bite? If so, you may want to seek compensation. Are you concerned that the dog could bite someone else in the future? If so, you may want to pursue legal action to ensure that the owner takes proper care in controlling their dog.
What should I do if MY dog bites me?
If necessary, seek medical care first and foremost. Secure your dog away from others until you can ensure it will not bite again. Consider training programs to help teach your dog not to bite so that you can avoid a possible lawsuit in the future if your dog were to bite someone else.
Can you sue if a police dog bites you?
Yes. If a police dog bites you it can be considered excessive force or police brutality. Contact a personal injury lawyer for legal advice.